June 29th, 2017 or “The Day I Realized It’s Been Two Months Since Our Last Update”

What I’m “Doing”:  tbh it’s one of those days where I’m not even faking particularly well.

What I’m Doing:  staring blankly at a calendar trying to figure out how I can be standing so close to the summer midpoint while my heart is telling me it’s still only may.

Mood:  in addition to mourning the loss of my summer to class weekends and work stress, Lorde’s new album has me mourning a poignant and heartbreaking loss of love I’ve never actually experienced.

Currently Thinking About: Band Aid, an indie rom com that introduced me to the phenomenal Zoe Lister-Jones, who wrote, produced, and directed and STARRED IN the film.  I stumbled into a showing on Tuesday night when I felt compelled to solo theater hop (it happens), and I have not been able to stop thinking about it.  I’m a sucker for a witty, articulate, achingly painful but still generally warmhearted fight scene, and this movie is essentially different shades of that for an hour and a half.  Well-written, well-acted, well-conceived, the whole thing delivers.  I left the theater sobbing and re-evaluating my opinions on human nature and the pros and cons of cohabitation even more than usual, which is saying something.  Also, the ending contains the most earnest and least condescending parental advice monologue that I’ve maybe ever seen.

Thing I’m Feeling Positive About:  this may feel like the slowest week I’ve ever experienced with very little exaggeration involved, but it’s almost the weekend and next week’s a bit of a wash with the holiday so I may be in internal crises mode but at least I can be in internal crises mode at the beach, or in the pool, rather than at my desk.  It’s all about context, people.

still gotta make it through today and tomorrow, though.

may the world continue to cultivate at least vaguely positive vibes and more feminist movie ensembles.

-E

Leave a comment