February 8, 2018 or “The One Where I Learn to Roll With the Punches”

What I’m “Doing”:  Order processing, email answering, and general analysis of business-like happenings.

What I’m Actually Doing:  Working from home while I wait for the Safelight Glass guy to come replace the car window some asshole smashed two nights ago. And yet, at the same time, I’ve had a phenomenal couple of days.

What the What: I’ve stumbled across Jess Lively’s The Lively Show podcast and it’s really changed the way I view myself and interact with the world in a good way. Girlfriend knows how to make things flow.

What I’ve Been Reading: “Eat Up” by Ruby Tandoh, a beautifully written and starkly honest take on the collective modern neuroses surrounding food. It’s one part cookbook, one part love letter, one part industry smashing/self-love inspiring self-help guide. Ruby looks honestly at the ways we view food, and the ways we view ourselves, and the ways we fit into society, and takes note of every small intersection of these three things that exist in our universe. It’s lovely and slow paced and kind and I never want it to end.

Currently Thinking About: Keeping myself in alignment, whatever that means to any one person at any one time, and also obsessing over my porch space. I’ve decided that I need to make use of the wonderful southern callifornia weather by making an outdoor oasis all my own in our otherwise unused balcony space. Couch is on the way, and I’ve got plans for a coffee table, an area rug, and a whole lot of plants. I want a place to read and write and meditate and just feel connected.

Thing I’m Feeling Positive About:  Literally everything. It finally feels like all of the parts of my life are coming together, and nothing has actually changed. It’s just the way that I feel about everything that’s changed. My job is the same, my relationship is the same, my apartment and my city and my friends and my parents and my MBA and my career trajectory are literally all the exact same and yet everything feels lighter and more positive and more possible. And I want to keep these vibes going as long as I can.

Signing off with a reminder to myself that I’m meant to do this more consistently than once a month, but also with forgiveness that I haven’t been. Hoping I’ll feel called to write more frequently in the coming days.

With love,

E

Leave a comment